India's Premier Lifestyle Destination For Men.


Indian Cricket Team’s Schedule Till 2027 Released In Latest FTP

Indian Men's Cricket Team
A A A tT

The ICC and BCCI have released the latest edition of the future tour programme, detailing India’s cricket schedule over the next five years leading up to 2027. The Indian cricket team will play 38 Test matches, 39 ODIs, and 61 T20Is in the next FTP cycle between May 2023 and April 2027, excluding their participation in ICC events. 

The new FTP for the next four years features more matches compared to the previous cycle, despite the increase in franchise T20 leagues from around the world, and India’s men’s cricketers will be in action every month until April 2027, barring August 2024.

Indian Men's Cricket Team Future Tours Program
[Source: BCCI]

The biggest headline of the new future tours programme schedule is that the length of the Border-Gavaskar series between India and Australia will increase to five Test matches. The frequency of matches between cricket’s big three in the new FTP cycle and the Men in Blue will now play two five-Test series each against England and Australia over the next five-year period.

India host Australia for four Tests next year as part of the 2021-23 World Test Championship before travelling down under for five Tests in December 2024 as part of the 2023-25 WTC cycle. Australia will visit India for five Test matches in 2027. The Men in Blue also face England in two five-Test series – at home in 2024 and away in 2025.

Apart from the Australia and England tours, India will only take on the other Test-playing nations in a series comprising just two Test matches, barring a solitary home series against New Zealand that features three Tests. India tour West Indies and South Africa in 2023 for a two-Test series and host red-ball games against Bangladesh and New Zealand in 2024.

India will not face Pakistan in any bilateral match over the next five years, but both nations are likely to meet in various ICC events over the next cycle, including the Champions Trophy in 2025 that will take place in Pakistan. India will host Afghanistan for one Test and three ODIs in 2026. The Men in Blue will also play three Tests away from home against Rashid Khan’s side in September of the same year.


[Featured Image Credit: ANI]